“Here I am! – Laodicea (Rev. 3:19-22, Bible Study)


This is the final segment of my notes from a weekly study of the Book of Revelation covering the Church at Laodicea. For prior segments see:

“I will spue thee out of my mouth.” Laodicea (Rev. 3:14-22, Bible Study)
and
“I am rich and do not need a thing” – Laodicea (Rev. 3:14-22, Bible Study)

“Those whom I love I rebuke” (Rev. 3:19-22, Study)

19 Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest and repent. 20 Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me. 21 To the one who is victorious, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I was victorious and sat down with my Father on his throne. 22 Whoever has ears, let them hear what the Spirit says to the churches. (Revelation 3:19-22)

v. 20a “Here I am!” Notice that exclamation point. We don’t have to seek Jesus. He’s already here, waiting for us to welcome Him. He implores us to turn around from our worldly view to a heavenly view. When we turn around (repent) we will find Him waiting with open arms. He reinforces this by saying “I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me. (v 20b) Again, notice that in the attached picture there is no outside latch on the door. It must be opened from the inside. Jesus stands at the door of our hearts, always ready, but no willing to force Himself in. With God, grace is always ready and available.

Dining together during the time of Jesus and the 1st century was not just a casual thing. Think of how often Jesus was chastised for eating with sinners. Paul confronted Peter about this when Peter refused to eat with gentiles (the uncircumcised). (See: Paul Opposes Cephas, Galatians 2:11-21.) Jesus so wants that intimate, personal relationship with each of us. He wants to know us.

In Biblical times, to “know” a person often meant sexual intimacy. The meaning here is different. It means a complete intimacy, a “becoming one” with Jesus. When we ponder that, it becomes even more intimate than a sexual relationship.

v. 21 Those who do repent will join Jesus in Heaven.

v.22 “Whoever has ears, let them hear…” Jesus speaks to each of us, even today. As shown below, we all come to Jesus from different places and in different ways. We have to listen for and to His voice.

May none of us be “lukewarm” for Jesus. Amen!

My thanks to Pastor Michael and the faithful members of the Men on the Grow Bible study group.

This blog is part of an ongoing series based on my notes from a weekly Bible Study. For all of the blogs in this study, see: A Study of the Book of Revelation: Index of Blogs

Shalom, Art
Alive in the Word

About aliveintheword

Missouri, USA Married to Marty, 45 years 2 sons (with 2 daughers-in-law) and 2 granddaughters Life dedicated to serving Jesus Christ and delivering the Good News
This entry was posted in Revelation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment